List of Rescues, Shelters, SPCA Branches and Humane Societies in BC

We’ve tried to put together a fairly comprehensive list, though we know there are many rescues, societies and   shelters we may not be aware of as of yet. Please help us keep this list up to date and let us know if we’ve missed anything.

Greater Vancouver/Fraser Valley

Action for Animals in Distress Society http://www.actionforanimals.net/
Animal Advocates Society http://www.animaladvocates.com/
BC Chihuahua Rescue http://chirescue.org/
Beagle Paws http://www.beaglepaws.com/
Big and Small Rescue http://www.facebook.com/pages/Big-and-Small-Rescue/166798643432000
Boston terrier Rescue Canada  http://www.bostonterrierrescuecanada.com/
Boxer Rescue Canada http://www.boxerrescuecanada.org/
Bully Buddies http://www.bullybuddies.net/
C.A.R.E.S. (Canadian Animal Rescue and Extended Shelter) http://www.carescatshelter.com/
Carried Through Animal Rescue and Education (CTARE) http://carriedthrough.com/
Chilliwack Animal Safe Haven Society http://www.thesafehaven.ca
City of Coquitlam Animal Shelter http://www.coquitlam.ca/city-services/pets-animals/animal-shelter
Cross Our Paws Rescue http://www.crossourpawsrescue.com/
Delta Community Animal Shelter http://www.deltacommunityanimalshelter.ca/
Dhana Metta Rescue Society http://www.dhanamettarescuesociety.org/
District of North Vancouver Animal Welfare Shelter http://www.dnv.org/article.asp?c=576
Dogway Dog Rescue http://www.dogwaydogrescue.org/
Dogwood Rescue Society http://www.dogwoodrescue.org/
Embrace a Discarded Animal Society https://www.facebook.com/embracesociety
Fraser Valley Humane Society http://www.fraservalleyhumanesociety.com/
German Shepherd Rescue of BC http://www.gsrbc.com/
Greyhaven Exotic Bird Sanctuary http://greyhaven.bc.ca/
Hearts on Noses http://www.heartsonnoses.com/
HomeFinders Animal Rescue Society http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/homefinders.html
HugABull Advocacy and Rescue Society http://hugabull.com/
LAPS (Langley Animal Protection Society) http://www.lapsbc.ca/
Katie’s Place Animal Shelter http://katiesplaceshelter.com/
Kensington Foundation http://kensingtonfoundation.ca/
Last Chance Animal Rescue http://lastchanceanimalrescue.ca/
Little Mischief Rescue http://www.littlemischiefrescue.org/
Little Paws Rescue Society http://littlepawsrescue.net/
Ocean Dog Rescue http://oceandogrescue.org/
Out of the Dog House Rescue https://www.facebook.com/Out-of-the-Dog-House-Rescue-208585425901723/
Pacific Animal Foundation http://www.pacificanimal.org/
Paws for Hope Animal Foundation http://pawsforhope.org/
Pekingese Rescue of B.C. & West Coast German Shepherd rescue  https://www.facebook.com/westcoastshepherd/
Pilots N Paws Canada http://www.pilotsnpawscanada.com/
Rabbitats http://www.rabbitats.org/
RAPS (Richmond Animal Protection Society) http://www.rapsociety.com/
Reptile Rescue, Adoption and Education http://www.reptilerescuerichmond.org/
Royal City Humane Society http://www.rchs.bc.ca/
RRPP Dogs (Rescue, Rehabilitation and Permanent Placement for Dogs) http://rrppdogs.webs.com/
SAINTS (Senior Animals in Need Society) http://www.saintsrescue.ca/
SALI (Semiahmoo Animal League Inc.) http://www.sali.ca/
SANS – West Coast Spay and Neuter Society http://members.petfinder.org/~BC23/index.html#Contact
SARA Society (Save Animals through Rescue and Adoption Society) http://www.sarasociety.com/
SARS BC (Small Animal Rescue Society of BC) http://smallanimalrescue.org
Size Small Dog Rescue http://www.facebook.com/pages/Size-Small-Dog-Rescue-Langley-British-Columbia/377401022288720
Snake in the Grass http://www.snakeinthegrass.org/
S.N.A.P.P.S. (Squamish Neighborhood Animal Partnership & Protection Society) http://snappsociety.org/
SPCA Abbotsford http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/Abbotsford/
SPCA Burnaby http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/burnaby/
SPCA Chilliwack http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/chilliwack/
SPCA Maple Ridge http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/maple-ridge/
SPCA Port Coquitlam http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/poco-centre/
SPCA Richmond http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/richmond-centre/
SPCA Squamish http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/squamish/
SPCA Surrey http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/surrey/
SPCA Vancouver http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/vancouver/
SPCA West Vancouver http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/west-vancouver/
Surrey Animal Resource Center http://www.surrey.ca/bylaws-policies-licenses/11182.aspx
TAD (The Abandoned Dog Movement British Columbia) http://www.facebook.com/CanadalovesTad
Thank DOG I Am Out //http://thankdogiamout.com
That’ll Do Border Collie Rescue http://bcbordercollies.moonfruit.com/#
TLC Pet Adoption http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/BC122.html
TNT Shar-pei Rescue http://www.tntsharpeirescue.com/
Vancouver Animal Control http://vancouver.ca/home-property-development/animal-control.aspx
Vancouver Humane Society http://www.vancouverhumanesociety.bc.ca/
Vancouver Shar-pei Rescue http://vancouversharpeirescue.com/
VEATA (Volunteer Education & Assistance Team for Animals) https://www.facebook.com/pages/Veata/175067342508692
VOKRA (Vancouver Orphan Kitten Rescue Association) http://www.orphankittenrescue.com/
VRRA (Vancouver Rabbit Rescue and Advocacy) http://www.vrra.org/wp-beta1/
West Coast Cocker Rescue http://www.westcoastcockerrescue.com/
West Coast Rottweiler Rescue http://www.westcoastrottweilerrescue.com/index.php
Whistler Animal Shelter (WAG) http://www.whistlerwag.com/

Vancouver Island/Coast

Angels Under our Wing Cocker Spaniel Rescue http://www.angelsunderourwings.com/main.php
BC Poodle and Small Dog Rescue https://sites.google.com/site/bcpoodleandsmalldogrescue/
Big Heart Rescue http://bigheartrescue.com/
Cats Cradle Animal Rescue http://www.catscradleanimalrescue.com/
CRD Pound (Capitol Regional District) http://www.crd.bc.ca/animal/
Chelco Farms http://chelcofarms.org/
Dees Orphans http://www.deesorphans.com
Dog Bless Rescue Partners http://www.dogbless.ca
Faunadael Farm and Pet rescue http://members.shaw.ca/faunadael/
Furever After Small Dog Rescue http://www.fureverafter.net/
Greater Victoria Animal Crusaders http://www.animalcrusaders.ca/
Helping Homeless Cats http://www.helpinghomelesscats.com/
Island Dogz http://www.islanddogz.com/
Mex-Can Pet Partners http://www.mex-can.org
MexPup http://www.mexpup.com/index.html
Mosaic Rescue http://www.mosaicrescue.ca/
Respect-A-Bull http://www.respect-a-bull.net/
Rest Q. Sanctuary http://www.restqsanctuary.org
SPCA Alberni-Clayoquot http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/alberni-clayoquot/
SPCA Campbell River http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/campbell-river/
SPCA Cowichan http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/cowichan/
SPCA Haida Gawaii http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/queen-charlotte-islands/
SPCA Parkville – Qualicum Beach http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/parkville-qualicum-beach/
SPCA Powell River http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/powell-river/
SPCA Salt Spring Island http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/salt-spring-island/
SPCA Sunshine Coast http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/sunshine-coast/
SPCA Victoria http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/victoria/
SPCA Wild ARC http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/wild-arc/
Victoria Adoptables http://www.victoriaadoptables.com/
Victoria Animal Control http://www.vacs.ca
Victoria Pet Adoption Society http://www.victoriapets.ca/

Cariboo/Chilcotin

Mixed Up Mutts http://www.mixedupmutts.ca/
SPCA 100 Mile House http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/100-mile-house/
SPCA North Cariboo http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/north-cariboo/
SPCA Quesnel http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/quesnel/

Kootenay

Creston Pet Adoption and Welfare Society http://www.paws-crestonbc.org/
Kootenay Animal Assistance Program Society http://www.kaap.ca/
SPCA East Kootenay http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/east-kootenay/
SPCA Shuswap http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/shuswap/
SPCA Trail http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/trail/

Thompson/Okanagan

SPCA Kamloops http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/kamloops/
SPCA Kelowna http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/kelowna/
SPCA Nelson http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/nelson/
SPCA South Okanagan http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/south-okanagan-similkameen/
SPCA Vernon http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/vernon/

Northern BC

Dogs Deserve Better New Hazelton http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dogs-Deserve-Better-New-Hazelton-BC/285047477733
Kitimat Humane Society http://kitimathumanesociety.piczo.com/?cr=6
Northern Lights Wildlife Society info@wildlifeshelter.com Northwest Animal Shelter http://nwas.ca/
SPCA North Peace http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/north-peace/
SPCA Prince Rupert http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/prince-rupert/
SPCA South Peace http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/south-peace/
SPCA Williams Lake http://www.spca.bc.ca/branches/williams-lake/
Thornhill Animal Shelter (Terrace) http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/BC97.html